Help Design HP’s Next Laptop

I received an invitation, in part because of some reviews I’ve done as a blogger, to provide feedback and ideas to HP on what kind of laptop I’d design if I could do it myself. The sky is the limit and I think this is a great opp for MVP’s and others to speak up.

This is for real. I will be giving this link to HP and also collecting feedback. And of course supplying my own

If you ever wanted to make an impact, this is your chance. JUST LEAVE A COMMENT!

 

Technorati tags: , ,
This entry was posted in Technology, TX1000. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Help Design HP’s Next Laptop

  1. 1.) 64bit. dual core minimum.
    2.) Tablet functionality
    3.) useable keyboard (Acer Ferrari is good example)
    4.) 1680×1050 minimum screen
    5.) 6 Lbs (2.7 kg) max weight with “normal” battery
    6.) hot swap batteries and/or addon battery for long flights
    7.) 802.11n, bluetooth, and Gb Ethernet. don’t bother with modem.
    8.) Support 4GB RAM.
    ==============
    Alternate model
    1.) 64-bit, dual core
    2.) Tablet PC
    3.) detachable keyboard
    4.) 3 Lbs (1.4 kg)
    5.) 802.11n, bluetooth, Gb Ethernet
    6.) THIN
    7.) Addon and/or hot swap battery

    I honestly don’t think this can be done in one model, because of screen real estate needed for my first choice, and the weight needed for my second choice. But if you can give me everything in first choice, AND keep the weight down to 2 Kg MAX, you have a dead winner here. I don’t need to count the keyboard, DVD, or spare battery in the weight, by the way.

  2. Oh, sorry, one add on. MINIMUM DVI out, dual DVI/VGA preferred. And NO shared memory – full dedicated video memory.

    And it’s not an accident that I didn’t specify the number of spindles. One is enough.

  3. Another add on. Should have a TPM 1.2 capable chip to support bitlocker natively, please.

  4. Pingback: Design a Laptop - x(perts)64

  5. Dana Epp says:

    I like Charlie’s ideas. I would add that I would like to see that harddisk be a MINIMUM 120GB and be running @7200 RPM. Personally I would like a second drive so I can have my VMs reading/writing on a second head… not affecting the first drive. I would also like to see that the audio is placed in a manner where we can hear it; if it flips to tablet mode I don’t want to see it covered up like some Tablet models.

  6. KoZe says:

    To add to the above comments, A eSATA connection on the laptop would also be a required item in my view to be able to have more drive’s connected if needed for demo or backup either one.

  7. JoeM says:

    Use the DV9000 design. Make sure the hindges can handle closing and open the lid, the weakest link. Make the power plug easy to put in, and if someone trips over the wire make sure it does not damamge the device.

  8. Robert says:

    Keyboard with lit keys – I seem to do a lot of typing on my laptop when it is dark and sometimes I can find the right keys. My Blackberry has this – a laptop should too. And a very obvious way to turn off the sound quickly – nothing more embarrasing than the loud “Windows” login sound in the middle of the airport.

  9. Win'5000 says:

    1. Quad Core desktop processor power without the heat!
    2. 19″ TFT
    3. Not too heavy
    4. Easily upgradable CPU / RAM / Hard disks
    5. Wifi etc
    6. Better keyboard than HP NX9105
    7. Under £500 / $1000!

  10. Walter B says:

    Keybord with num pad.

  11. Paul Clement says:

    Wow…what an open ended question!

    I’d have to say that the following should be considered.

    1) Upgradable! Make it modular using industry standard components (like a PC) so we could replace video cards (MXM), wifi cards, CPU (same form factor), would be the idea.
    2) Sata2 controllers for HDD *AND* removable bay (DVD, extra HDD).
    3) Provide an empty carrier for the removable bay so we could be an extra HDD and mount it.
    4) eSata, USB2, Firewire 400 and 800, Express and PCMCIA slots.
    5) DVI, VGA and HDMI outputs.
    6) Built in power convertor – no more BRICK! Use industry standard plug end.
    7) Lit keyboard that can be turned on or off.
    8) Top mount buttons for Enabling/Disabling wireless, touchpad (built-in pointer) and video input.
    9) 9 or 12 cell batteries should be standard.
    10) Ship as standard one half the memory copacity of the notebook using only one half the available memory slots. Providing a 4GB-capable laptop with 1GB of RAM that fills both memory slots is wasting our money since we have to remove at least one module to upgrade.
    11) If not able to make video cards user-replacable, then at least allow a memory upgrade module for them.
    12) A cool function would be the ability to remove the enclosed keyboard from the laptop and use it wirelessly.
    13) Pivoting screen (as in the tablets that could be opened, turned 180 degrees then shut so you could work flat with the keyboard mentioned in 12 (above).
    14) The NIC should be 10/100/1000 – in this day and age, not providing GB ethernet is a mystery to me.
    15) An LED readout on the top (around the keyboard) that shows battery level (lit when computer is on, unlit when off (but can be illuminated by pressing a small button)! Why should I have to turn it on to find this out?
    16) Included software for managing the laptop and removable bays – let me see graphically what’s in each bay. port and slot.
    17) Built in card reader. Popular formats – ie, SD, Memory Stick, CF.
    18) Integrated Web Cam and Microphone.
    19) Biometric support with software.
    20) Bluetooth.

    I’m sure I’ve forgotten a few things, but those are what I would condsider nice to have.

    Paul
    MVP – Directory Services

  12. Brian Hughes says:

    1) 64-bit Dual on up core system
    2) Vista Home Premium x64! (I’m upset that my new Dell came with x86 even though it supports 64-bit)
    3) Wireless N
    4) Integrated WebCam / Mic (this is awesome on my new laptop)
    5) DX10 capable graphics card
    6) Upgradeable Hard Drive
    7) Light weight!
    8) Great battery that doesn’t protrude from the end of the case. However, give user option to get larger battery, but warn it will protrude from end of case
    9) Less pre-installed stuff! Particularly subscription services. I wish you would give AVG Free Edition an option. Then I won’t get nagged that I haven’t registered or subscribed.
    10) Card Reader (SD, etc)
    11) Fingerprint reader for log-in
    12) Bluetooth
    13) Media Keys to control volume and music from keyboard without having to go into the program to click buttons. Preferably, put it in the empty space usually between function keys and monitor. I currently have media keys on the front edge and I accidentally hit them every now and then.

  13. Dana Cline says:

    As a happy owner of a 12.1″ tx1119us laptop, I’d love the following to be fixed…

    1) Ditch the Express/34 slot, put back in a PCMCIA slot. There are very few Express/34 cards, and I already have some PCMCIA ones I now cannot use.
    2) Add Firewire. Since HP’s 14″ laptops have it, why not on the 12.1″?
    3) More USB ports – 3 is not enough.
    4) Move the network port to the back – the right-front area where it is now is inconvenient if you use a mouse.
    5) Bigger battery – well, more powerful, not bigger.
    6) Move the fingerprint sensor to the touchpad area – it’s currently on the left side of the screen nowhere near my fingers.
    7) More RAM would be good – 2Gb is barely enough for Vista.
    8) 7200 RPM disk would be nice…
    9) Most important – NO CRAPWARE!!! Mine had so much crap on it I had to format the disk and install Vista from scratch.

    Dana Cline – Microsoft Media Center MVP

  14. Stefano Colasanti says:

    Hello Barb, how are you?
    Thanks for the opportunity to express our opinion.
    This is my input

    1) Tablet
    2) 12 inches screen
    3) 64 bit
    4) 2 or 4 cores
    5) Outdoor readable screen (extremely important)
    6) At least 120 GB HD 7200RPM
    7) Bluetooth 2.XX
    8) WiFi G/N
    9) Integrated camera n mic
    10)Fingerprint reader
    11)4GB of memory
    12)Upgradable video card
    13)NO shared memory for the video card
    14) 64 Bit Drivers!!!

    If HP could implement this you have a buyer. 🙂

  15. ron whitefountain says:

    This fixation the industry has with dark or black keyboards makes laptops (I have an hp pressario) very difficult to use in dim lighting.
    PLEASE consider a lighter brighter keyboard area for us seniors.

    Thanx,
    Ron

  16. Jim Blanchard says:

    There are lots of great spec suggestions above, so I’ll leave that be. I use a laptop as my primary machine, (mobile consultant) and my big gripe about my current machine (an HP nc8430) is the location of the ports. The USB/Firewire/Network ports are all on the sides of the machine. By the time I plug in the myriad USB devices (mouse, external HDD for VPCs at a min with occasional need for phone and ipod sync cables and flash drives) my laptop becomes this rats nest of cables. I have to fight with them to open the CD tray and it’s just a hassle. Most of the ports should be on the back of the laptop where they belong. On that note, ship the laptop with a bluetooth mouse standard. Who doesn’t use a mouse with their laptop at least 25% of the time? BTW, lit keyboard? Genius. Never thought of it, gotta have it.

  17. surilamin says:

    Look at what Apple is doing, make some beautiful looking devices. Run windows, vista looks really nice, whatever. Just make some sexy PCs please. 🙂

  18. Rick says:

    Being 6’3″ I hate the ergonomics of laptops. I’m always hunched over looking at the screen and the tension on my back and shoulders is killer. I’d love to see a laptop with a display on risers. One where once I’ve opened it up I could pull the monitor up to a good height. I think this would be easy to engineer and would totally transform my view of laptops. Lastly, I’d like to see the keyboards standardized around the 101-key layout as implemented on the nc8430. Being a touch typist having the non-QWERTY keys randomly arranged in a nonsensical manner as exhibited by Toshiba (and others) drives me nuts!

  19. JD says:

    Design a better way to open the DVD than the tiny button on the side…maybe with a mechanism or dedicated button on the keyboard. Some form of LED lighting (low power) down onto the keyboard would help in dimly lit rooms.

  20. Don’t ignore the power supply. A 5lb laptop won’t be on my shopping list if the power supply weight 2lb and is half the size of the laptop.

    Look at Kensington’s universal power supplies – light and slim and work in any country using any power source (car, air, AC)

  21. Mark Andrews says:

    If a laptop had a natural keyboard, numeric entry pad and (obviously) a wide screen to encompass all that…I would never buy another desktop. 🙂

  22. Mark says:

    I certainly agree with all of those who require Tablet PC functionality. I would add that HP discarded one of the best designs ever when they ceased production of the TC1100 Tablet PC. The detachable screen is sorely missed by a great number of us.

    An outdoor viewable screen is a must.

    A wireless docking station, ala Toshiba’s newest Tablet would be marvelous.

    The thin external battery from HPs 2710p Tablet.

    Dual microphones (or more).

    Keyboard light.

    8 gig max memory at least and all slots user accessible.

    External hardware buttons for screen rotation, wireless on/off.

    Trackpoint mouse.

    Dedicated video RAM for Vista.

    And I agree about sexy…

  23. confidential says:

    outside of the normal 2007 everday stuff…

    – nVidia Graphics
    – SXGA or better resolution for 15.4″ screen and smaller
    – get rid of that cheesey mouse on their latest generation notebooks
    – dual and quad core options
    – durable design
    – long battery life
    – 7200 rpm hard drives
    – docking station option with no drivers required
    – linux drivers

  24. Jon says:

    Bottom line: a laptop, at this stage, should be a portable desktop. I personally don’t see any excuse as to why they have to be restricted in any way to a single, essentially one-off, design. Upgradeability is key so people can design their own and later improve them without being shoehorned into a “size 9” laptop.

    I own a 1st Gen Dell XPS notebook and I really am glad I could change the video card up for a better one. Plus the processor is a PC processor and thus full-powered.

    For me to purchase another notebook, as close to a portable PC as I can get would garner my attention.

    /s/ Jon C. Munson II

  25. JCardinal says:

    I second the solid state hard disk. I’m amazed at so many people specifying 7200rpm hard drives, we’re solidly into the 21st century now people let’s leave that old tech behind. Just getting rid of the hard drives opens up all sorts of possibilities. I also think the suggestion that the keyboard be removable and wireless is a brilliant idea and that would solve the 6’3 persons problem as well.

  26. Cory Boyan says:

    Please give me a laptop that isn’t so long front to back! All these modern machines with the hand rest out front make the unit so deep that you can’t use it on an airplane when the guy in front of you leans his seat back.

  27. Luke says:

    Built-in camera would be fantastic for web meeting capability at work.

  28. Lloyd says:

    64bit dual core with memory capacity > 2GB
    7200 200GB Hard Drive
    NVidia Bios / Graphics with separate Graphics Ram
    Most importantly, modify the power supply chord to plug in at a 90 degree angle to the laptop instead of straight in off of the chord. If it’s straight in the power jack is susceptable to stress caused by inadvertantly moving the chord when using the laptop on your lap as well as other surfaces, after a while, the whole machine is rendered useless. After becoming the owner of a 64 bit paperweight, this is a must before I buy another HP latpop.

  29. Reid says:

    Don’t let the package designer decide where the touchpad should be! All the recent hp/compaq notebooks put it so far right of the “home” position my hand rests on the pad and/or the right button.

    Also mentioned above but worth repeating – move some of the I/O connections to the rear panel – and don’t put any closer to the front of the machine than the DVD drive is!

    I also miss the pcmcia socket 😦

  30. Neal says:

    1. The Fn key shoud never ever be placed in the bottom left of the keyboard where the CTRL key should be. Also needs to have a decent sized enter key.
    2. 17″ Minimium 1600×1920 res 144 DPI
    3. A Detachable screen so when I next upgrade I can keep the screen and only pay for the laptop base components. (Would also increace HP’s repeat sales, As I’m more likely to buy from HP again if I can save money by re-using the same screen)
    4. Internal wireless mouse reciver (not bluetooth they’re rubish)
    5. Solid state HD option. (Min 60GB)
    6. Hire some decent designers, so it looks good and is ergonomically well designed.
    7. DVI socket.
    8. The ability to attach more than one external monitor.
    9. Upgradable DX10 GPU with dedicated memory
    10. Express card slot.
    11. Slot loading DVD drive. (not interested in BlueRay or HD DVD until there is a single definitive standard)
    12. Don’t want a brick sized power supplies.
    13. Ditch the modem.
    14. TPM 1.2 encryption chip
    15. The laptop should come with only one memory slot filled. and the memory upgrade prices should not be extortionate conpared to buying it separatly.
    16. A laptop without the Windows Tax. aka. I want to choose the OS I want to use, and don’t want to pay for an OS twice, if i have a perfectly legal (non oem) copy why do I have to buy a new OS?
    17. All the large connections should be at the rear of the laptop. + some usb
    18. A recessed or a (but easily accessible) compartment with a usb port inside it. This is for usb memory sticks etc. that you rarely disconect. Stops them sticking out of the side of the laptop.

  31. Aaron Butler says:

    Top Priority: DUMP THE CRAPWARE! Mostly Miserable AOL And Norton.
    Dedicated video memory.
    I don’t have a Mac, but you have to love the Magpower jack. Implement a slick alternative that will snap apart before breaking.
    Make 2gb of memory a minumum. Most buyers who are using Vista will be frustrated with less. For $50 dollars it just doesn’t make sense to irriate the customer right out of the shoot with poor performance.
    Dump the hoky pop open CD drive doors. Make it like the one I have in my car where the cd slips in. Slick!
    Include all the 802 wireless standards.
    Dump the modem.
    Dump the 3/4 PCMCIA. Bring back the full size slot.
    Camera and a mic in the top lid.
    Finger print reader.
    Lightscribe.
    Firewire 800.
    Like the other posters said, make it SEXY!

  32. chesscanoe says:

    Provide a 5 LED indicator of download/upload realtime speed.

  33. Frank Orlando says:

    I would suggest a blue tooth enabled pointing device which would fit on your index finger and directed by a thumb. i am fed up with mice and tough pads. this would be a great alternative to the eraser head.

  34. Danny Shisler says:

    I’d really like to see a medium size (13″ – 14″) *high res* (e.g. 1400×1050 or 1440×900) Tablet PC.

    The only tablet on the market like this is the Toshiba Tecra M7 which is much too unwieldy. The other high-res tablet pc’s on the market (Thinkpad X60/1 and Toshiba M400) have 12″ high-res screens which are just a bit too small for the high resolution.

    I’m sure there is a gap in the market for this type of format if the right balance is found between screen size, resolution and overall machine size.

    It’d have to be a fairly well spec’ed machine too (i.e. Core 2 Duo, up to 4GB Ram etc.)

  35. Nick says:

    Rather than just a bunch of specs I would like HP to focus on some areas of this that they don’t usually consider. However firstly a number of posts have detailed Hard disks but the best option for that is internal flash memory, perhaps a combination of both flash memory and hard disk storage that recent OS’s can take advantage of. Secondly, for x64 capable OS’s lets forget about the 4GB memory limit of 32-bit systems and offer memory options above 4GB. Finally multi-core, low powered, low heat is a must and Gig Nics, bluetooth 2.0 and 802.11 N/G support is obvious.

    However lets focus on design, elegance and simplicity of form. That is after all what makes people lust after Apple systems. Give me a laptop that is thin, light weight, with a smooth widescreen display and long battery life. Give me a screen on the cover for Vista sidebar based systems that is usable. Give be a machine that people will drool over just by looking at it. Go hire a firm of designers to make it visually stunning instead of the usual grey/black square box. As others have suggested, illuminate the keys with a nice background glow so you can type in the dark. Functionally, let me separate the keyboard from the screen so that I can put the keyboard on my lap and leave the screen on a surface a few feet away. Functionally provide me with a wireless connected set of ports so that I don’t have to continually plug in cables for printers and USB devices or use a docking station. Give me a tiny, but usable wirelessly connected mouse that un-docs from the keyboard. Give me a remote DVI / HDMI port that I can plug into the back of my TV and wirelessly stream content to directly from the laptop.

    These are things I would want in a laptop.

  36. Timothy says:

    Gotta agree with Mark. Please bring back (and update) the TC1100 tablet design.

  37. Mike says:

    Solid State hard disk as an option for sure.

  38. MJ says:

    Different colours than black and silver. Raised up fonts on keyboard and a specific button on keyboard for voice activation/convert text to sound for blind users. Bendable notebook! Screen is able to be detached from keyboard and the option to choose left handed keyboard. The ability to change left/right handed keyboard. A very thin mouse is included inside the keyboard – that means a compartment to store it when the notebook is closed/not used.

  39. jpivarski says:

    I know this is not the most efficient use of space, but I loved the trackballs in the old Mac Powerbooks. These new imprecise, unspin-able touchpads are driving me nuts!

    To go completely in the other direction and make a multitouch tablet, like a giant iPhone, would be fun for browsing, but maddening if you ever have a small button to press. Perhaps the pen helps with that.

  40. Felix Torres says:

    It sounds like Tablet PC is an option.
    In that case, absent a return of the late, lamented TC1100 form factor (easily the most usable Tablet PC to this date) may I respectfully suggest that a bit of attention be paid to human factors/ergonomics in Tablet mode?
    – Dedidated page up/page down buttons on the upper left face (where righties hold a tablet) at a minimum. A jog dial would be an acceptable option.
    – Placement of the CPU-fan exhaust so that it doesn’t toast the user in Tablet Mode.
    – If built-in optical drive, either use a slot loader or make sure it opens away from the user. (A friend of mine had to get rid of an otherwise excellent Toshiba Tablet because the built-in drive kept opening on him in Tablet mode with incidental bumps and he almost snapped the tray once.)
    – An optional outdoor-readable screen would be a big selling point on most any laptop design. Why is it that hardly any vendors offers it?
    – Not sure it makes sense cost/mass-wise but has anybody looked at a solar cell panel on the back of a regular laptop? Maybe for battery extension?

    As an owner of an aging TC1000, I’d kill for a return of the form factor–Motion and Fujitsu have proven there is room in the market for pure slates–but I’d really start a cult if HP would do a 3/4-sized 1.5lb TC1000-like for ebook-reader, document editing, web tablet, etc use. Keyboards are great but they’re not always needed. The TC detachable-keyboard form factor was almost perfect (even if the cpu exhaust toasts the left hand) and the leather carrier is priceless. Please tell them to re-visit the ideas behind the TC!!!

  41. Mirek2 says:

    I like the above ideas. All I would add to it is make it EnergyStar. I’m currently looking for a good EnergyStar Tablet PC (that could run Vista Ultimate), so I’d be happy and greatful if you made one…

  42. Jim Felder says:

    – PURE SLATE. A pure slate is more versatile than a convertible. Especially if teamed with a good detachable Bluetooth keyboard/screen cover. I’ve had both a slate (Motion M1200) and convertible (Toshiba M400). With the slate I felt like I was using a true pen computer and used it in portrait mode most of the time. With the convertible, the thickness meant that holding it was awkward. Plus there was no blank short end, so there was not side to rest on the desktop or my lap when it was in portrait mode. So I ended up most of the time using it in landscape mode as a clamshell laptop with a crappy keyboard.

    – LOW, LOW power consumption. I would take 6 hour battery life over speed. Tablets are not used in heavy number crunching situations, so the fastest dual core procs sit idle most of the time and chew up the battery.

    – THIN. Tablets are only useful when they can be held like a book or notepad. Much more than an inch and it you feel like you are balancing it on your arm rather than holding it in your hand.

    – NO BUILT-IN OPTICAL DRIVE. Don’t really use them very often, so not worth the weight and thickness required to have on-board all the time. DO include an off-board DVD drive in a very small case that is USB powered. It doesn’t need to be a fast drive, just fast enough to play DVDs and CD mostly. Then I can keep it in my bag, where the bulk and extra half pound isn’t as critical. NO A/C powered drive, however. Having to tote an extra power brick around is a deal breaker.

    – PAGE FORWARD/PAGE BACK ROCKER SWITCH. Tablets make great document reading devices, and not just ebooks. With the Reader mode in Word, I used my Motion slate to read and review papers and documents all the time. The rocker can go on the bezel so as leave the sides clean and also so that it is protected by the keyboard
    when it is snapped on. Oh, and I am left handed, so it if could be placed in the middle so that it is as usable by us lefties as well as the majority who aren’t so privileged.

    – PAY ATTENTION TO THE DOCK. A great dock make a good system great. It needs to pivot so that the screen can be used in portrait. This allows me to have a document open on the device’s screen for reference while I work on the larger secondary screen. And it needs to be help up so that the bottom of the screen is at least 4 inches off the desk. I would put a DVD drive in the base, or have a bay where I can slip in the portable DVD drive. Except for the DVD drive, my Motion dock is close to my ideal. The Toshiba dock as useless for other than charging the battery and connecting the keyboard, mouse, screen and network.

    – A BLANK SHORT SIDE ON CONVERTIBLES. If you must to a convertible, make sure that one of the short sides has nothing on it. No vents, no DVD tray, nothing that would keep a user from resting on that side when the tablet is in portrait mode. This was the largest failing of the Toshiba. On one side was the DVD tray and on the other was the primary vent. Rest on the DVD side and the eject button was always pressed and the DVD tray would pop out. Rest on the other, especially a conforming surface like my lap and I would cover the vent, not to mention toasting my thigh to a nice golden brown. Nice for Thanksgiving turkey, bad for living flesh.

    – SLOT LOADING DVD. If you must have an on-board optical drive, make it slot loading. I damn near broke off the tray on the Toshiba the very first day when it poped when I was reading in portrait mode. And if possible, I would put the slot on the front long side again with the idea of leaving one of the short sides totally blank.

    – A BIGGER SCREEN ISN’T ALWAYS BETTER. When mobile, you don’t need a huge screen, and a big secondary screen is why you have a dock when at your desk. I liked the 12.1 inch screen of the Motion, but I also liked the 10.5 inch screen of my friend’s TC110 (Hi Felix).

    – MAYBE A 16:10 RATIO SCREEN. This ratio gives more space for menus top and bottom when reading in portrait mode so as to be able to view a full page. Plus it fits better with DVD aspect ratio when using it as a media player.

    Do these things and I’ll give up my Dell laptop and move back to TabletPCs.

  43. Doug says:

    I hate glossy screens! NO MORE BRIGHTVIEW!

  44. Ngarkat says:

    There seems to be an impedance mismatch between Digital camera manufacturers and laptop manufacturers. Can you guys please talk to each other! An example of this is the Flash card readers. Most top end DSLR’s still use Compact Flash cards. Can a reader for these please be provided as well as SD etc. Thanks.

  45. Shrinivas Patil says:

    Place the mouse buttons on the left and right side of the track pad, it becomes more easy to acces them and configurable to left hand users.

  46. Swanno says:

    Thinking about the overall concept and not just the technical detail which will probably be obsolete by the time it actually gets made.

    Make it modular with each component a standard size and/or connection for that component. That way if a buyer wants a certain disk that can just be ‘snapped-in’. I suppose I am saying make it very easily configurable and repairable. Also have a standard for screens so they can be replaced easily.

    Go away from the concept that they do not get repaired, just replaced.

    Sorry, sounds a bit rambling but I am fed up with every laptop being subtly different from each other. What I think users want is standards so that the purchase of a brands equipment means that I have flexability across the range and not mean that I have to have new accessories just for it.

  47. John Ward says:

    1. A truly rugged power socket. You’ve got to mount it on the case rather than the motherboard. I’m truly tired of broken power connectors–as well as those too wimply to retain the power cord firmly after a few months of portable usage.
    2. Option to order/buy without a Microsoft operating system installed. No OS or a major Linux distribution would be fine.
    3. Full standard-sized keyboard (without 10-ken pad in smaller laptops). Don’t crowd the keys or place them in unusual locations. Remember–the left Ctrl key is used far more than the Fn key!
    4. Wireless technology changes rapidly. Don’t artificially restrict the user’s ability to swap out the mini-pci’s contents for newer technology.
    5. LED backlit screen for power conservation.
    6. Ability to boot OS from static memory.

  48. John says:

    Great suggestions by all above. I would like to add a request for the “eraserhead” pointing device, as on the old ThinkPads – at least as an option. Touchpads are OK for some, but I believe the eraser is more accurate and less prone to accidental operation.

  49. Shrinivas Patil says:

    One more suggestion to make the base lighter and smaller: a hard top touch-screen keyboard which doubles from a QWERT standard keyboard to Numeric keypad to larger track-pad to Functional keypad. Functional key pad includes audio video buttons, CD eject/Open and few programmable keys. It also should work as a touch screen for drawing and scribbling. The keys are to be made visible depending on the function (Keyboard/Num pad/Media control/touchpad) by backlight (use second full sizes LCD screen). It also becomes spill proof. Only one mechanical switch for power ON/OFF like Apple.

  50. Dave Michaels says:

    Come on people, let’s think outside the box and advanced the laptop platform a little. Top features should be:
    1) 128GB or greater flash drive for storage (crash proof & much longer batter life)
    2) 4GB DRAM w/swap file stored in flash drive (maximum speed)
    3) thin profile with Advanced materials for case (should feel sturdy & expensive but actually be cheap, use glass & composite materials — same stuff use to build Boeing 787 Dreamliner)
    4) screen should be huge, glossy, and high resolution (screen should extend to edge of display, no boarder)
    5) integrated wireless everything (802.11n, evdo, bluetooth, wimax)
    6) slot load blu-ray/hdDVD drive
    7) eliminate modem, pc card slot, ps2, serial, firewire, parallel ports
    8) magnetic lid closure instead of latch
    9) physical button for wifi on/off, volume dial, volume mute
    10)eliminate function keys to create large keyboard space
    11) use gesture software to create quick launch button on touchpad (ie. a circle motion with your finger could launch outlook, or )
    12) use integrated webcam for password via face recognition
    13) integrated webcam
    14) hardware echo cancellation for built-in microphone (allows video conference skype calls without headset
    15) quad core cpu
    16) Price $999 or less

  51. Seonaid Barrett says:

    Wow, so many comments, with so many bulletpoints.

    I, for one, want a decent graphics card. Something that will run the latest games with no problems. No Intel Integrated Graphics… no half-supported mobile editions of last year’s chipsets. It doesn’t have to be standard, and I’ll pay a good bit more (as if buying a quality desktop graphics card), but it’d be really nice to have the option.

    Other than that, I just like what others seem to want… the mriacle laptop… lightweight, long battery life, high resolution, fast, and low cost. Shouldn’t be a problem, right?

    But trust me… my next purchase will be all about how well it runs Second Life, World of Warcraft, or whatever the next big thing is.

  52. Pingback: HP’s TX2000 Entertainment PC: A perfect all around notebook/tablet? « digitalmediaphile

  53. Mark says:

    All I’d like would be a hybrid tablet like the TC1100.

    No onboard optical drive, and use a Solid State hard drive, doesn’t have to be huge capacity (32gb is fine) so that essentially there are no moving parts – perfect for a tablet. Processor should be modern and low power, speed and graphics arn’t huge issues for me, as I wouldn’t attempt series gaming on a tablet. Battery life should be more than 3 hours, with low cost hot-swap battery’s available.

    Add a motion sensor that can detect portrait / landscape orientation, and use the 3D graphics chip to smoothly rotate the screen and change resolution in smooth animation. Um…that’s really it, the TC1000 series still are amazing laptops, the form-factor should never have been abandoned.

  54. Arie says:

    Make a TX3000 with AMD Processor, 7-Series (M?)G chipset (I know, it’s not out yet, but that is currently the best integrated chipset for AMD processor, so push AMD a bit ^_^) and keep the price around TX2000’s. That will be a winner notebook/ tablet PC. And of course, HDMI / Display Port is a nice bonus.

  55. Fredrik says:

    Just 3 things to make the upcoming TX3000 a dream machine.

    1. User friendly customisable buttons and scroll wheel in tablet mode.
    (you will capture a lot of designers, illustrators, architects etc)

    2. No glossy screen

    3. Better Graphics chip

    Thx for listening 🙂

  56. christopher landrove says:

    i would make it as light as possible and compaqed so is could fit in a back pack somthing like (13*7) with AMD 64 bit.

  57. kamal says:

    I like to say 3 points
    1.quad core with good battery life
    2.dual graphics
    3.last but not least-xp and vista dual bootable…

  58. Radu says:

    Implement the 3d drive guard motion sensor in games or other applications (laptop alarm)

Comments are closed.